1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Criminal Law
  4.  – Can you be arrested for speeding in Michigan?

Can you be arrested for speeding in Michigan?

On Behalf of | Sep 13, 2021 | Criminal Law

While speeding might not seem very serious, there are some serious penalties that could apply to your case. For example, a first-time violator of Michigan’s speeding laws may result in penalties such as:

  • Up to $100 in fines
  • A license suspension

Did you know that there is no exact speed at which speeding becomes reckless driving? As a result, you could be accused of speeding and reckless driving if you break the speed limit and are showing reckless behavior at almost any speed. First-time violations for reckless driving may include:

  • Fines of up to $100
  • A license suspension of up to 90 days
  • A jail sentence of up to 90 days

It’s a good idea to defend yourself from the moment you know you’ll face a speeding ticket or reckless driving charge. If you do not, then you could face the penalties above as well as others. Fortunately, you do have the option of speaking with an attorney after an arrest and may ask to be read your rights if you’re taken to the police station. That way, you’ll be on the way to protecting yourself if you end up in court.

How can you defend against a traffic ticket or reckless driving charge?

To defend against a traffic ticket or reckless driving charge, you need to understand your rights.

During the traffic stop, don’t say or do anything that may indicate that you know you violated the law. Instead, allow the officer to state what they believed happened. For example, “Is there a problem, officer?” is a good question to ask.

Follow directions. If the officer gives you a ticket, all of the information you need about fighting or paying that ticket will be listed on the ticket. Your attorney can help you prepare for the traffic court hearing if you are asked to come to the court for a speeding ticket.

If you are arrested for reckless driving, ask to speak with your attorney, and don’t say or do anything that may appear incriminating. You have the right to wait to speak with the police about the charges until you have a better legal understanding of your rights and case.